Tags

,

This Sunday I was at… joint work?? I don’t know. In Latvian we have word – “talka” and thats means, when many people – friends, relatives, come together to do some work. For example – help harvest, help to move someone, help to clean, to do some repair work in flat, and so on… No payment, only helping each other.

So, I was at Talka. I found information about this event in magical place – facebook, of course.  I found, that there is festival in Latvia – Give and Get, in which I never took a part,  I don’t know, if I ever heard about it properly before. But there was information, that they have a garden in Lucavsala, and everyone are invited to help tidy up this garden.

Few words about Lucavsla… I live in Riga, which is capital of Latvia. Not very big city, if compering with London or Paris. Still  – something around 700 000 people are living here. River Daugava  flows through Riga. And in this river are islands. One of the island is Lucavsla. And on Lucavsla, almoust in the middle of Riga, are gardens. Small family gardens.  Actually everyone can go and ask municipalities for garden there. Isn’t it beautiful – garden in the middle of city, in the middle of river??

And so – I find out, that Give and Get  is asking for help to clean garden, and in summer there will be festival. I took all my courage (because I didn’t know anyone there), asked my mother to look after my kids, and went to help.

I realy have nice time and nice day!! Weather was beautiful. I helped with some work. And it was beautiful  – to do some real work in garden, not sitting in the office. Appletrees and cherry trees are blooming!! I was tired, but so full of energy!! And I felt myself so fine with complety strange peoples around me – every one was frendly and doing some work .

Thank you Give and Get!

 

